August 28, 2017 (week 98)

Last letter before returning home!

IMG_8641IMG_8638

This week was good! We had few time in our area, but what we had was good! Leo and Gabriel (josé’s brother) were baptized! This was pretty much my last week proselyting. Today is pday, tuesday we have to go to crateús to do some baptismal interviews and well get back late in the after noon on wednesday, thursday we are going to help president with some stuff, and then friday i leave.

Leo is incredible. We contacted him on the street 2 fridays ago and in this short time hes progressed till baptism! I remember well when we talked to him.. it was about 6:00 and the day wasnt going great, we were tired and exhausted and almost all of our comittments had fallen through. When I saw Leonardo (leo) I felt that I should talk to him. He was one of the most prepared people Ive ever taught. After his baptism we taught his family together. His dad was baptized in the church but has been inactive for 33 years. In the lesson his dad cried as he promissed he will ever drink again and that he wll come back to church because of the love he has for his son. Its hard for me to describe the feelings I had. I feel priviledged to have been part of that moment. After we walked out the bishop told us that he feels that Leos dad will be a temple worker in fortaleza when the temple is completed. I saw their whole family in the temple, I hope it happens 🙂 During the lesson I thought I little bit about my life. I was enjoying so much that moment but I couldnt help but think that it will be one of my lasts, at least as a missionary. It kind of hit me that I wont be doing this for much longer. It was a sad realization. Ive been here for a long time. honestly I cant really remember what normal life is like. It seems like a distant past, or another reality. It’s hard to describe myself and my feelings. When I thought about this moment (of ending my mission) at other times during the mission I didnt really think about the negative side. Im excited to come home and see and talk to you guys, but at the same time im sad to be learving here and the life ive been living. Either way, its time for me to start a new part of my life. I love being a missionary. I know the Christ lives and He is my saviour. I am so grateful for Him and all He has blessed me with im my life. Deciding to serve as a missionary was one of, if not the, best decision ive made in my life.

Love and miss you guys. Im excited to come home 🙂

Elder Lawrence

Leave a comment