April 24, 2017 (week 80)

IMG_8305IMG_8308IMG_8312

This week was good!

The highlight was definitely Wendel’s baptism. He had to pass through a lot of difficulties to be able to get to this point. I dont remember what Ive told you guys of him yet, but Id like to share a little bit. So at the beginning he wasnt really very interested in the church, but very quickly he developed a strong desire to learn more. Sumerizing a lot he was able to obtain an answer from God and really wanted to be baptized. The problem was that he lives with his grandma who hates the church and didnt want him to get baptized at all. Him mom is pretty much the same, although she lives in another neighborhood. So (sumerizing a lot again haha) it was all set, and friday and saturday he went to a church campout with all the youth. When we called him he expressed concern and said he wasnt she anymore if he wanted to get baptized with his family opposing so much. We said wed talk when he got back. He got back saturday night and we had one of the most spiritual lessons that ive had on my mission. Among other scriptures, I read to him ‘”He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.”(matt 10) I told him how lucky I consider myself that I dont have to make that decision, but how ive thought about it a lot and if i had to I would. Its hard to describe, but the Spirit was strong. at the end of the lesson he said he wanted to get baptized, and on the following day, he was!! what is awesome is that we promised him blessings and that he wouldnt have to abandon his family and that they would come around and sunday afternoon his grandma called him saying sorry for the way shed been treating him about his choice and if its what he wants she’ll support him!!

Ill attatch some pictures. on a less spiritual note, Wendel plays guitar and sings which the girls of the ward descovered on the campout so that explains the picture haha

quote of the week “I met the missionaries before. Theyve already explained the whole story to me, how you guys are elder because he was the founder of the church”

hope you guys are all doing well!

Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

