June 13, 2016 (week 35)

IMG_7728 IMG_7726 Conferência

Hey everyone!

So this week we fasted with Gostavo so that his mom would let him get baptized. He’s been going to church for over a year and the only reason he hasnt got baptized is because his mom knows he likes church and since he isnt a perfect kid she wants to take away what he likes. Although she agrees what hes learning at church is good…. so it doesnt really make sense. But anyways we asked him if he wanted to fast with us and since hes only 12 we said wed start the fast after lunch and he could start after dinner but he said “No! I can make it the full 24 hours” and he did! but weve tried to talk with his mom every day and she always gives an excuse or she just isnt there.. but hopefully we’ll be able to talk to her this week!

We met a kid this week and his name is Kaio, but he likes to go by arch angel so theres that hahah, its actually his middle name but still haha

So people (well kids) still dont always believe im speaking portuguse. I literally had I 5 minute debate with this kid as to if I was speaking portuguese or not, in portuguese haha. He said everything I was saying was english, but he doesnt speak english so it doesnt make a whole lot of sense haha

This week I also convinced my companion and a few investigators that the US has a day without crime, where you can do whatever you want… I dont know why or how they believed me but they did!

Also this week we had the amazing opportunity to hear from Elder Christensen and his wife! The spoke in english and there was a translator so it was great to hear it in the two languages. It was awesome and definitely inspiring!

So this week I want to share a scripture thats in matthew 11: 28-30 “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your sould. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

When we are exhausted and want to give up, we need to turn to the Saviour! The path that he offers is easy. But not easy in the sense that you arent required to act. Easy in the sense that it is the path of happiness. We cant truly be happy doing nothing! I find that I am most happy when I am working the hardest to be like my Saviour. I know he is the only way to return to the Father!

I hope everything is well in the states! I pretty much here nothing about the news of there haha

I attatched a picture from the conference and one of our zone and one of my district!

Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

