February 15, 2016 (week 18)

Transfers are this week! Transfers are every six weeks and it’s when you can get moved to another area or get a different companion. I found out that I will be training a missionary! yikes. So, basically, that means that I will be his first companion and more or less show him how to be a missionary. That’s pretty scary for me because I don’t think I really know what I’m doing right now, and I still have a hard time understanding people when they talk. But, from past experience I have a testimony that the Lord doesn’t call who is qualified, he qualifies who he calls. I will definitely need His help! The good news is I’m pretty sure he will be Brazillian so at least he will know what people are saying. If he’s ends up being American.. haha it will be an adventure, thats for sure.

Well that’s all I can really think about right now, but I did right down a few things during the week to say.

This was a few weeks ago, but I forgot to mention it (i think, if i already did then sorry) we saw a motorcycle (made for two people) with 5 people on it. There’s not really much to add, but I laugh every time I think about it hhaha

The person I want to write about this week is Josué. He came up to us in the street and shouted “The Elders!!” So we asked him if he had been taught by elders before and he said “I was an Elder!” But now he doesn’t go to church anymore. He said he knows it’s true but things came up and skipping one Sunday lead to another and he stopped reading his scriptures and now he’s completely inactive. It reminded me of a scripture I read earlier in the week that is in Alma 5 (prophet in the Book of Mormon) is says: “And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now? I don’t now about you guys, but I think this is a powerful scripture. When we stop doing things to strengthen our testimonies and our faith, it begins to wither and eventually die. “Can you feel so now?” is a good question to ask ourselves every once in a while, because often times we seem to forget spirtual experiences that we have and we forget the testimony we once honored. Anyways, it was just a great reminder for me that I need to continue in trying to build my faith in our Lord and Savior. We invited him to come back to church, so hopefully we see him there soon! Although he didnt seem too interested.

I hope you guys had a great week!

Elder Lawrence 🙂

Leave a Reply

