October 21, 2015 (week 1)

Hey everyone!!

I have officially been a missionary for 1 week! Sorry for sending another giant paragraph… some of the computers you can hit enter and make another paragraph so maybe I will be able to use one of those in future weeks.

So I have no idea where to begin! Time is the weirdest thing here. The days are so long. But not in a bad way. It just feels like so much happens in one day and when you look back at the end of the day it seems like the beginning was so long ago. Does that make sense?

We are so separated from the world it honestly just feels like another life. Its really weird… Portuguese is HARD! especially for the first 2 or 3 days. The way they teach is by not speaking any English and only speaking Portuguese. Pretty much the only English I hear is from other Americans in my district. I’m sure you can imagine how frustrating it is, especially when the instructor is talking to you. So the first while was really hard and it’s easy to get down on yourself. But the last day or two have been really encouraging. The instructor speaks realllllllllllyyyyy slow and I can understand a lot of what she says and can speak a little but. but I speak super slow and have to think a lot about the words to say as I’m saying them. It takes me a while to translate in my head while I speak. My instuctor’s name is Irmâ Araujo and she is full on energy! Seriously, I dont know how she can always be so excited and never get frustrated. She’s Brazilian but her English is pretty good, although we basically never hear it.

hmmmm what else! Well we have two brazillian roommates that speak  almost 0 english so its fun to try to talk with them. They are willing to help  and extremely understanding!

The days here are so similar. We get up at 6:30 and go to bed at 10:30. We have personal study, exercise, companionship study and A LOT of language study. We also teach an “investigator” every day (a Brazilian mormon who pretends to be someone wanting to know about the church). That is always interesting since our Portuguese is VERY limited.

Well, if there is anything anyone wants me to talk about in future emails let me know and I will! I’m not sure if I have time to respond to emails this week but I will take pictures of emails and hopefully have time to respond next week if I have time!

Oh, one quick funny story. A sister in my district was “teaching” the instructor and meant to say something like “you pray a lot like him” but accidentally said “I want you” when the instructor explained we all starting dying! It was on one of the first days.

Till next week!
Elder Lawrence 🙂

Leave a Reply

