November 4, 2015 (week 3)

Learning a new language is sooo humbling for me! I feel the importance of what I am doing and that gives me a lot of motivation, but it is so hard to learn a new language! It takes so much effort to try to understand Portuguese and when it’s from a native speaker I basically have no chance, but I’m sure I’ll get there some day soon! (ish haha) It’s kind of like solving math problems all day. I know that is kind of a weird way to put it, but it is! When you hear the words you have to translate as fast as you can and hope that you can do it fast enough and know enough words to get the jist of what someone is saying. It’s hard to keep up, even when they speak slow for you.

It’s a little scary that I only have three weeks left in the MTC! I definitely am not halfway to being able to have a decent conversation with someone, but I am praying and working like crazy in hopes that it does! I will definitely have lots to learn when I get to Fortaleza. There was a devotional this week that I really loved! It was spiritual for me 🙂 So it was basically about hardwork and sacrifice. And the story was told of a missionary (30 or so years ago) who gave up playing for the New Zealand All-Blacks (famous rugby team) to serve a mission. The speaker said we all give up things to serve! Some more than others, but everyone puts their life on hold for two years to serve the Lord and His people. I know that there are so many people who have given up so much more than I have to serve, it makes me humble when I think about what some people give up and it makes me realize how relatively easy my life has been. Then he talked about hardwork. People often asked him (the speaker used to be a mission president in France) about why missionary work is so hard, why do people not accept the gospel, or why is it so hard to learn a language or why do people not follow through on their commitments. and basically his answer to them was “Of course missionary work is hard! Salvation never was easy.” He then talked about the atonement and the incomprehensible price Jesus Christ paid for us to have the opportunity to live with God again one day. He told us how God called us to serve missions, and if we want our burdens lifted, we need to turn to Him” He won’t erase our problems and difficulties in life, but He will raise us up so we can bear them.

Thats all for this week! 🙂 I hope you guys all have amazing weeks! Sorry for typos and things that
don’t make sense in my emails, I’m just typing as fast as I can!

Till next week,
Elder Lawrence 🙂

Leave a Reply

